Nani Metreveli

Expectations and reality might sometimes match and that’s what happened to me. Living in a city where you don’t know anyone and working in a center, where you need to prove that you are ready for new experiences, you have initiatives and you are passionate to contribute to the local community, these are things that I was thinking volunteering was about. 

I spent 10 amazing months in Tartu. Every day was a chance for new opportunities, new challenges and goals. This project gave me capability to be more confident in myself, believe that everything is possible, the main thing is to start and never give up. 

In my view, volunteering in a foreign country cannot be linear, it is a combination of multifaceted and diverse processes that ultimately have a positive impact on the formation of personality. 

The beginning was tough. I had to get used to new things, new people, environment, working culture and of course the weather, but eventually everything became familiar and close to me. 

It is a great pleasure and experience to interact with young people from different cultures and histories and to spend time with them – creating the international network of volunteers is one of the biggest benefits of the project.

I perceive volunteering as an eye-opening adventure, on which you not only prove your abilities but also help others to achieve their goals, by sharing opinions and supporting one another. It is a unique chance to help and empower others. 

In a nutshell, by helping others, you help yourself. You grow, you study, you experience new things and during this path, you realize who you are or who you want to become…simply it’s a self-contemplation and that’s worth a try. 

Leave a comment