I am Lakshya Raj and my ESC takes place in Saue Noortekeskus

Greetings! I am Lakshya Raj, and I am thrilled to share my experience as an ESC volunteer at Saue Youth Centre in Estonia. Hailing from India, I moved to Italy to pursue a master’s degree in the Protection of Human Rights and International Cooperation at the University of Bologna (Italy). I am a TEDx Speaker, having previously worked for the government and international agencies, I have been managing Erasmus projects where I had heard so much about ESC Volunteering, and I wanted to experience it and see what it feels like to be an ESC volunteer.

My curiosity for volunteering and passion for community-building led me to Estonia, and since then, my journey has been truly incredible. Volunteering at Saue Youth Center has been a superb experience, and I feel grateful for being chosen for this amazing opportunity. As my colleagues put it well, “I am the chosen one,” and it totally fits the narrative haha.

Volunteering at Saue Youth Center is not just about playing with kids, but it involves going beyond the conventional definition of a volunteer. As a force for good in the community and with my expertise, I have created unique projects for young people, offered them unique opportunities that weren’t available in the community before, educated them on topics that are not widely discussed, organized intercultural events, given lectures at high schools as a guest speaker, offering yoga and meditation classes in my free time, and taking multiple initiatives that make me feel like I’m not just giving back to the community, but I’m also a part of it. The warmth and inclusiveness of the people in the community have made me feel at home, and everyone here wants to keep me in Estonia after my volunteering ends (I might possibly consider this haha).

Through my volunteering work, I have connected with locals and gained a deeper insight into the culture of Estonia. It’s been an incredibly rewarding experience to work with Estonian people and make a positive impact on their lives. Estonia is a welcoming country and has always been open to involving foreigners in the community. This adds to the fact that it is a country of endless opportunities, as long as one has the will to explore.

I feel blessed to have met amazing people and to have learned from their culture and way of life. I strongly encourage everyone to volunteer in Estonia or wherever they can, it’s an enriching experience that will stay with you for a lifetime.

Leave a comment